House Condemns Trump's Racist Attack on Congresswomen

By Updated at 2019-07-17 05:39:58 +0000


WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. House of Representatives voted on Tuesday to condemn President Donald Trump for “racist comments” against four minority Democratic congresswomen, a symbolic vote aimed at shaming Trump and his fellow Republicans who stood by him.

Tempers flared in the hours leading up to the vote that mainly split along party lines, the culmination of three days of outrage sparked by a Trump tweetstorm that diverted attention from all other business in Washington.

Trump had told the group of congresswomen to “go back and help fix the totally broken and crime infested places from which they came.”

All four lawmakers - Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan - are U.S. citizens. Three were born in the United States.

Democrats, who have a majority in the House, passed the symbolic resolution of condemnation on Tuesday evening, which said the House “strongly condemns President Donald Trump’s racist comments that have legitimized and increased fear and hatred of new Americans and people of color.”

Four Republicans joined the Democrats to support the measure.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, who has struggled at times to work with the progressive newcomers in her caucus, staunchly defended them in the debate.

“These comments from the White House are disgraceful and disgusting and these comments are racist,” Pelosi said.

Pelosi’s comments put the House into a two-hour limbo after Republicans argued she went too far in her comments and broke debate rules.

House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy criticized Democrats for remarks that upset the “order and decency” of the chamber, saying: “Today is the day that historians will write about.”

He had urged his colleagues to vote against the measure. “It’s all politics,” McCarthy told reporters.

Trump has a history of what critics consider race-baiting. He led a movement that falsely claimed former Democratic President Barack Obama was not born in the United States and said after a deadly, white supremacist-led rally in Charlottesville, Virginia, in 2017 that there were “very fine people on both sides” of the incident.

Reporting by Richard Cowan and Susan Cornwell; Additional reporting by Jeff Mason, Amanda Becker, David Alexander, Eric Beech, David Morgan and Mohammad Zargham; Writing by Roberta Rampton and Susan Heavey; Editing by Jonathan Oatis and Peter Cooney

House Republicans who voted against resolution

Rep. Ralph Abraham (LA-05)
Rep. Robert Aderholt (AL-04)
Rep. Rick Allen (GA-12)
Rep. Mark Amodei (NV-02)
Rep. Kelly Armstrong (ND-At-Large)
Rep. Jodey Arrington (TX-19)
Rep. Brian Babin (TX-36)
Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02)
Rep. Jim Baird (IN-04)
Rep. Troy Balderson (OH-12)
Rep. Jim Banks (IN-03)
Rep. Andy Barr (KY-06)
Rep. Jack Bergman (MI-01)
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (FL-12)
Rep. Rob Bishop (UT-01)
Rep. Michael Bost (IL-12)
Rep. Kevin Brady (TX-08)
Rep. Mo Brooks (AL-05)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (FL-16)
Rep. Ken Buck (CO-04)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (IN-08)
Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13)
Rep. Tim Burchett (TN-02)
Rep. Bradley Byrne (AL-01)
Rep. Ken Calvert (CA-42)
Rep. Buddy Carter (GA-01)
Rep. John Carter (TX-31)
Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01)
Rep. Liz Cheney (WY-At-Large)
Rep. Ben Cline (VA-06)
Rep. Michael Cloud (TX-27)
Rep. Tom Cole (OK-04)
Rep. Doug Collins (GA-09)
Rep. Chris Collins (NY-27)
Rep. James Comer (KY-01)
Rep. Mike Conaway (TX-11)
Rep. Paul Cook (CA-08)
Rep. Rick Crawford (AR-01)
Rep. Dan Crenshaw (TX-02)
Rep. John Curtis (UT-03)
Rep. Warren Davidson (OH-08)
Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
Rep. Sean Duffy (WI-07)
Rep. Jimmy Duncan (TN-02)
Rep. Neal Dunn (FL-02)
Rep. Tom Emmer (MN-06)
Rep. Ron Estes (KS-04)
Rep. Drew Ferguson (GA-03)
Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03)
Rep. Bill Flores (TX-17)
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (NE-01)
Rep. Virginia Foxx (NC-05)
Rep. Russ Fulcher (ID-01)
Rep. Matt Gaetz (FL-01)
Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
Rep. Greg Gianforte (MT-At-Large)
Rep. Bob Gibbs (OH-07)
Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (OH-16)
Rep. Lance Gooden (TX-05)
Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Rep. Tom Graves (GA-14)
Rep. Garret Graves (LA-06)
Rep. Sam Graves (MO-06)
Rep. Mark Green (TN-07)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (VA-09)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (WI-06)
Rep. MIchael Guest (MS-03)
Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY-02)
Rep. Jim Hagedorn (MN-01)
Rep. Andy Harris (MD-01)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)
Rep. Kevin Hern (OK-01)
Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03)
Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10)
Rep. Clay Higgins (LA-03)
Rep. French Hill (AR-02)
Rep. George Holding (NC-02)
Rep. Trey Hollingsworth (IN-09)
Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-08)
Rep. Bill Huizenga (MI-02)
Rep. Duncan Hunter (CA-50)
Rep. Mike Johnson (LA-04)
Rep. Bill Johnson (OH-06)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD-At-Large)
Rep. Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Rep. David Joyce (OH-14)
Rep. John Joyce (PA-13)
Rep. John Katko (NY-24)
Rep. Fred Keller (PA-12)
Rep. Trent Kelly (MA-01)
Rep. Mike Kelly (PA-16)
Rep. Steve King (IA-4)
Rep. Peter King (NY-03)
Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
Rep. David Kustoff (TN-08)
Rep. Darin LaHood (IL-18)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
Rep. Bob Latta (OH-05)
Rep. Debbie Lesko (AZ-08)
Rep. Billy Long (MO-07)
Rep. Barry Loudermilk (GA-11)
Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-03)
Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-09)
Rep. Roger Marshall (KS-01)
Rep. Thomas Massie (KY-04)
Rep. Brian Mast (FL-18)
Rep. Kevin McCarthy (CA-23)
Rep. Michael McCaul (TZ-10)
Rep. Tom McClintock (CA-04)
Rep. Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
Rep. David McKinley (WV-01)
Rep. Mark Meadows (NC-11)
Rep. Dan Meuser (PA-09)
Rep. Carol Miller (WV-03)
Rep. Paul Mitchell (MI-10)
Rep. John Moolenaar (MI-04)
Rep. Alex Mooney (WV-02)
Rep. Markwayne Mullin (OK-02)
Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA-04)
Rep. Ralph Norman (SC-05)
Rep. Devin Nunes (CA-22)
Rep. Pete Olson (TX-22)
Rep. Steven Palazzo (MS-04)
Rep. Gary Palmer (AL-06)
Rep. Greg Pence (IN-06)
Rep. Scott Perry (PA-10)
Rep. Bill Posey (FL-08)
Rep. John Ratcliffe (TX-04)
Rep. Tom Reed (NY-23)
Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14)
Rep. Tom Rice (SC-07)
Rep. Denver Riggleman (VA-05)
Rep. Martha Roby (AL-02)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05)
Rep. Phil Roe (TN-01)
Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03)
Rep. Hal Rogers (KY-05)
Rep. Tom Rooney (FL-16)
Rep. John Rose (TN-06)
Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07)
Rep. Chip Roy (TX-21)
Rep. John Rutherford (FL-04)
Rep. Steve Scalise (LA-01)
Rep. David Schweikert (AZ-06)
Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)
Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-05)
Rep. John Shimkus (IL-15)
Rep. Mike Simpson (ID-02)
Rep. Jason Smith (MO-08)
Rep. Adrian Smith (NE-03)
Rep. Chris Smith (NJ-04)
Rep. Lloyd Smucker (PA-11)
Rep. Ross Spano (FL-15)
Rep. Pete Stauber (MN-08)
Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21)
Rep. Bryan Steil (WI-01)
Rep. Greg Steube (FL-17)
Rep. Chris Stewart (UT-02)
Rep. Steve Stivers (OH-15)
Rep. Scott Taylor (VA-02)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (PA-15)
Rep. Mac Thornberry (TX-13)
Rep. William Timmons (SC-04)
Rep. Scott Tipton (CO-03)
Rep. Mike Turner (OH-10)
Rep. Ann Wagner (MO-02)
Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-07)
Rep. Greg Walden (OR-02)
Rep. Mark Walker (NC-06)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-02)
Rep. Michael Waltz (FL-06)
Rep. Steve Watkins (KS-02)
Rep. Randy Weber (TX-14)
Rep. Daniel Webster (FL-11)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (OH-02)
Rep. Bruce Westerman (AR-04)
Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02)
Rep. Rob Wittman (VA-01)
Rep. Steve Womack (AR-03)
Rep. Rob Woodall (GA-07)
Rep. Ron Wright (TX-06)
Rep. Ted Yoho (FL-03)
Rep. Dong Young (AK-At-Large)
Rep. Lee Zeldin (NY-01)